

For Immediate Release September 1, 2023

Media Release: Board Changes Take Flight at YYT

ST. JOHN'S, NL – The St. John's International Airport Authority (SJIAA) is pleased to announce new appointments to its Board of Directors and acknowledge the service of two retiring members.

The role of the St. John's International Airport Authority's Board of Directors is to guide the strategic direction for the organization. The interests of the community are represented through a diverse Board of Directors, comprised of 12 members who are nominated by various stakeholders in the region. The Board has three standing committees – Governance, Development, and Finance and Audit.

David Howe will move into the role of Board Chair on September 1, 2023. Mr. Howe, who is Managing Partner of Noseworthy Chapman, holds several professional accounting/financial designations and was Chair of the Board's Finance and Audit Committee prior to this appointment. He is a nominee of the Mount Pearl-Paradise Chamber of Commerce.

Tom Williams, who was first appointed to the Airport Authority's Board in 2014, will complete his term on August 31, 2023. He served as Vice-Chair for three years and has been Chair of the Board since 2019. Elected National Chair of the Canadian Airports Council Advisory Board in 2022, Mr. Williams provided invaluable leadership throughout his nine-year tenure, most notably to the \$72.7 million terminal building expansion project in 2018. He also helped guide the Airport Authority through the significant challenges brought by the global Covid-19 pandemic.

A veteran of the provincial aviation sector, Robert Gosse, who was first appointed to the Board in 2017, will become Board Vice-Chair effective September 1, 2023. Mr. Gosse, who is a nominee of the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, has served on the Development and Governance Committees. He replaces outgoing Vice-Chair William Malone, who will now serve as Chair of the Governance Committee.

Holly Hicks, appointed to the Airport Authority's Board in 2014, will complete her term on August 31, 2023. Ms. Hicks, a professional engineer, was a nominee of the Town of Conception Bay South, and is the outgoing Chair of the Development Committee.

Additionally, the Airport Authority welcomes two new members, effective September 1, 2023.

Charlene Johnson is the Chief Executive Officer of Energy NL and brings a wealth of valuable experience in both the private and public sector to the Board. She is a nominee of the Airport Authority Board of Directors and will serve on the Development Committee.

Paul Fitzpatrick, a lawyer, is the Director, Regulatory and Compliance with Fortis Inc., with previous experience in the telecommunications sector. He is a nominee of the Town of Conception Bay South and will serve on the Governance Committee.



"I am honoured to be nominated as the next Chair of the St. John's International Airport Authority's Board of Directors," said David Howe. "I look forward to working with our Board and Senior Leadership Team, with the support of the exceptional staff at the SJIAA, on the many opportunities and challenges that lie ahead. I would also like express my sincere thanks to Tom Williams and Holly Hicks for their invaluable service and dedication to the SJIAA community throughout the last nine years."

Effective September 1, 2023, the 12 members comprising SJIAA's Board of Directors are: David Howe, Robert Gosse, William Malone, Peggy Coady, Louise Bradley, Brian Butt, David Mitchell, Stephen Outerbridge, Ken Baggs, Andrea Marshall, Charlene Johnson, and Paul Fitzpatrick.

ABOUT THE ST. JOHN'S INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY

The St. John's International Airport Authority is a private, not-for-profit, non-share corporation with the mandate to provide the region with a safe, cost-efficient transportation facility that is a catalyst for economic growth. Under the provisions of a long-term Ground Lease with the Government of Canada, the Airport Authority is responsible for the airport's operations on behalf of the community it serves.

MEDIA CONTACT

Ryan Howell Marketing and Communications Advisor <u>rhowell@stjohnsairport.com</u> 709-758-8756